frame

My Experience With Working on cPanel Hosting

edited June 18 in Writings

cPanel! cPanle!! cPanel!!! Na 3 whole times I call thy name. The Almighty and Invincible cPanel, created by the gods of programming for mere mortals.
I have to salute cPanel like that because you see, many people have made cPanel their GOD so to speak. They have come to believe that when you talk of hosting a website, you are talking of cPanel automatically.
These set of people, if you give them a cloud server where you can only control the server via SSH or give them stuffs like AWS CLI, they will simple faint dead.

But we get ahead of ourselves, for our talk today has to be on cPanel. I have worked extensively on cPanel for the past (quickly launch calculator app, closes it again) since around year 2004 (do the sums yourself), and I have had a lot of experiences with it, good, bad and ugly.

Let us start by trying to explain what cPanel is:

If you go to wikipedia or google and search you will get something like this:
cPanel is the company that builds cPanel & WHM. cPanel & WHM is an online Linux-based web hosting control panel that provides a graphical interface and automation tools designed to simplify the process of hosting a web site to the website owner or the "end user".

But to most typical web-designers, cPanel is that stuff that the web-hosting people send to you when you buy hosting from them, and you use it to upload your website online. Dont laugh, but that is the definition that many people will tell you (because cPanel is their gods, they dont know that their are other bigger gods out there like AWS) that can do the same thing.

Now that we know what cPanel is (at least a good idea), people that use cPanel fall into 3 distinct categories (my own classification mind you):
Class 1 : people that purchase a single host from a reseller account
Class 2: people using a reseller account
Class 3: people using a personal vps
Class 4: people using a dedicated server